Management Team


Professor Senia Paseta

Professor Senia Paseta


Senia Paseta is a historian of modern Ireland with a particular interest in the history of education, religious identity formation and political movements and ideas in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. She has published on the development of a Catholic university elite in pre-independence Ireland and worked on a number of aspects of women’s history, including the history of feminism and women’s education in Ireland.

selina todd

Professor Selina Todd


Selina Todd is a Professor of Modern History and a Fellow of St Hilda’s College. Her research interests focus on working-class and women’s history in modern Britain. She’s on the editorial boards of Past and Present and the Royal Historical Society’s Studies in History monograph series. Her first book, Young Women, Work, and Family in England, 1918-1950 won the Women’s History Network Book Prize. Her second book, The People: the Rise and Fall of the Working Class, 1910-2010 was published by John Murray in 2014 and quickly became a bestseller.

Alexandra Hughes-Johnson

Dr Alexandra Hughes-Johnson

Research Coordinator

Alexandra Hughes-Johnson is a historian of nineteenth and twentieth-century Britain with a particular interest in women, gender, health and political activism. Alexandra recently completed her PhD at Royal Holloway University. Her thesis is entitled ‘Reconfiguring Suffragette History from the Local to the National: Rose Lamartine Yates and the Wimbledon WSPU.’ Alexandra is currently working on a journal article which focuses on the establishment of various wartime suffrage organisations and a book proposal for her first monograph.


Research Associates


laura patterson

Dr Laura Paterson

British Academy Postdoctoral Research Fellow, History Faculty, St Hilda's College, Oxford

eve worth

Dr Eve Worth

Jenny Wormald and Women in the Humanities Junior Research Fellow, St Hilda's College, Oxford

charmian mansell

Dr Charmian Mansell

Women in Humanities Postdoctoral Writing Fellow

harriet mercer

Ms Harriet Mercer

Women in the Humanities Clarendon Scholar, Pembroke College, Oxford 

deborah ramkhelawan

Ms Deborah Ramkhelawan

Women in the Humanities Clarendon Scholar, St Cross College, Oxford

sasha rasmussen

Ms Sasha Rasmussen

Women in the Humanities Clarendon Scholar, St Hilda's College, Oxford

Steering Commitee

The Steering Committee consists of members from faculties within the Humanities division and from closely-related university departments. it oversees the allocation of awards and grants, and provides guidance on strategy, resource allocation and academic development.

Advisory Board

The Advisory board advises WiH’s directors and Steering Committee on the development of strategies which reflect and support our strategic aims and ambitions.

List of site pages